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California State Budget 2010-11 P0F

1 
Introduction 
On October 8, 2010, Governor Schwarzenegger signed the 2010-11 State Budget Bill; approximately 10 days later, he signed 19 implementation bills.  Prior to 
signing the State Budget bills, he vetoed $963 million in General Fund appropriations to achieve his goal of closing the $19.3 billion budget gap, increase the 
reserve from $375 million to $1.3 billion, and pushing a comprehensive plan for pension reform.  Spending for 2010-11 remains relatively flat at $86.6 billion, 
compared to $86.3 billion for 2009-10.   
 
Child Care and Development Services 
The Budget Act of 2010 (Senate Bill 870, Chapter 712) contains substantial cuts to child care and development programs as follows:  
 
 Eliminates $256 million in funding for CalWORKs Stage 3 Child Care.  A remaining balance of $128.8 million in federal funds was allocated to support the 

program through October 2010, when services would be terminated.P1F

2 
 
 Slashes the budget for the Local Planning Councils (LPCs) in half from $6.6 million in previous years to $3.3 million for 2010-11.  The LPCs are required to 

meet their mandated requirements to the extent possible with data that is readily available. 
 
 Reduces funding for the Child Care Recruitment and Retention Program by just over 21 percent, from $15 million to $11.825 million. 

 

 Caps reserve account balances held by center-based reserves to five percent of the sum of the contract maximum reimbursable amount.  The 
Superintendent of Instruction is to offset the 2010-11 apportionments with funds maintained in the contractor’s center-based reserve account as of June 30, 
2010 and continue until the reserve is at five percent.  A savings of $83 million is targeted; if not achieved, the California Department of Education (CDE) 
may conduct quarterly analyses of fiscal and attendance reports for the 2010-11 fiscal year for all contracts and may adjust the contract maximum 
reimbursable amounts due to underutilization of funds to reach the savings. 

 
 Reduces from 19 to 17.5 percent the administrative and support account allowance for voucher-based programs (e.g. Alternative Payment Program 

agencies) for a savings of $17.1 million.   
 
 Adjusts funds allocated for quality improvements to the federal minimum requirement of four percent of federal child care and development funds received, 

resulting in reductions to some quality improvement activities.   
 

                                            
1 For a more detailed account of the budget impact on child care and development services, read the policy brief, Governor Signs 2010-11 Budget Bills:  Impact on Child Care and Development Services 
prepared on behalf of the Policy Roundtable for Child Care (November 1, 2010) and available for download from www.childcare.lacounty.gov; click on Public Policy from the menu on the left of the 
screen.. 
2 The Office of Child Care has prepared a policy brief on behalf of the Policy Roundtable entitled Status of CalWORKs Stage 3 Child Care updated as of November 12, 2010, which is available for 
download from www.chikldcare.lacounty.gov; click on Public Policy from the menu on the left of the screen.  To request a copy of the policy brief, you may also contact Michele Sartell by e-mail at 
msartell@ceo.lacounty.gov or by telephone at (213) 974-5187. 
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California State Budget 2010-11 P0F

1 
 Cuts an augmentation of funding proposed by the legislature to support additional staff positions and associated committee expenses relating to the work of 

the Early Learning Advisory Council.  Instead, provides funding for two time-limited positions until July 2013.  In addition, deleted a provision stating 
legislative intent to use a portion of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) funds to study the feasibility of implementing a data system with 
information on children from birth to five. 

 
 Reduces the Regional Market Rate (RMR) paid to license-exempt providers from 90 to 80 percent of the rates paid to licensed family child care providers.  

The change affects voucher-based programs (e.g. Alternative Payment Program and CalWORKs Stage 1 and Stage 2 Child Care) for a total savings of $31 
million.   

 

 Allocates a small augmentation of $18.8 million to Community Care Licensing, bringing the budget to $2.1 billion.  
 

California State Legislature – First Year, 2010 P2F

3 
Introduction 
The legislature considered up to 37 bills relating to child care and development during the second year of the state legislative session ending August 31, 2010.  
Ten bills ultimately made it to the Governor’s desk for his consideration, of which eight were signed and two were vetoed.  This section contains a brief 
summary of the bills that passed the legislature for the Governor’s consideration and his actions.  Bills take effect on January 1, 2011, except for urgency 
measures which take effect immediately. 
Licensing/Health and Safety/Nutrition 

AB 222 (Adams) 
 

As of January 1, 2011, persons 18 years of age or older who provide care or 
supervision of children in an ancillary child care center (i.e. athletic club, 
business for children of clients or customer, etc.) are to be registered as a 
Trustline provider.  Employers under 18 years old are exempt from Trustline 
registration.  Fees for Trustline registration is to be consistent with the cost of 
processing applications and maintaining the Trustline registry.  Urgency 
statute. 

Chapter 431 
Signed by Governor:  September 29, 2010 

AB 2084 (Brownley) 

Beginning January 1, 2012, licensed child care sites are to meet certain 
requirement relating to the provision of beverages.  Programs are to serve only 
lowfat (1%) or nonfat milk to children two years old or older, limit servings of 
juice, and are banned from serving beverages with added sweeteners.  
Exceptions are children with medical necessity documented by a physician or 
when the beverages are supplied by the parent or legal guardian for their child. 

Chapter 593 
Signed by Governor:  September 30, 2010 

                                            
3 To obtain additional information about any legislation, go to www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.htm. 
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AB 2478 (Mendoza) 

Would have expanded existing law that applies to any person who comes onto 
school property or the adjacent and creates a disruption with the intent to 
threaten the immediate public safety of any pupil arriving at, attending, or 
leaving any preschool, kindergarten, on any grades 1 to 8.  The person would 
be guilty of a public offense. 

Vetoed:  September 30, 2010 
Veto message, in part:  “I believe it is important to 
ensure the physical safety of all students, but the 
protection provisions of this bill do not include 
students in grades 9 through 12.  I am also 
concerned that the provisions of this bill would 
likely be ineffective, limited to situations where the 
person charged with interfering with the peaceful 
conduct of a school would have to have the 
specific intent to physically harm students rather 
than causing a disruption that causes physical 
harm.  Since this bill is too narrowly drawn and 
otherwise duplicates existing law governing the 
crime of making criminal threats, I am unable to 
sign this measure.” 

SB 1116 (Huff) 

Defines heritage schools as public or private schools that offer foreign 
language education or tutoring and cultural education relating to a foreign 
country to children from four years, nine months old to age 18.  School 
contractors are to comply with fingerprinting and criminal background checks.  
In addition, the director is required to take at least 15 hours of health and safety 
training inclusive of pediatric first aid and CPR and require employees and 
volunteers to be in good health as verified by licensed physician or surgeon.  
Parents/guardian are to be notified if the school does not hold a child care 
license.  Operators of heritage schools are required to annually file with the  
Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) an electronic registration form.  
Exempts heritage schools from licensure. 

Chapter 286 
Signed by Governor:  September 23, 2010 

Kindergarten Transition 

SB 1381 (Simitian) 

Changes the required birthday for kindergarten entry to November 1 for the 
2012-13 school year, October 1 for the 2013-14 school year, and September 1 
for the 2014-15 school year and ongoing.  Children whose admission to 
kindergarten is delayed are to be admitted to a transitional kindergarten 
program offered by the school district.  Children may attend a transitional 
kindergarten program for up to two years.  Participants are to be included in 
computing the average daily attendance for the school district for calculating 
apportionments.   

Chapter 705 
Signed by Governor:  September 30, 2010 

Professional Development 

SB 1440 (Padilla) 

Enacts the Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act, which will require a 
student that receives an associate degree for transfer be deemed eligible for 
transfer into a California State University bachelor degree program as a junior.  
The community college may not require additional courses for the degree. 

Chapter 428 
Signed by Governor:  September 29, 2010 
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School Age Children 

AB 434 (Block) 
Allows the Afterschool and Education Safety (ASES) Programs to include as 
direct costs program site supervisors provided that at least 85 percent of their 
time is spent at the program site. 

Chapter 229 
Signed by Governor:  September 23, 2010 

AB 1876 (Torlackson) Would have allowed ASES Programs to provide activities on weekends with 
costs paid from the program’s maximum grant or supplemental grant. 

Vetoed:  July 23, 2010 
Veto message, in part:  “The need is so great for 
these valuable after school programs that there is 
still not enough funding to meet the long waiting 
list of schools and students seeking to have an 
after school program.  As a result, with so many 
program applications pending on the waiting list to 
start offering services during the regular school 
week, I do not believe it is prudent to expand to 
weekend hours at this time.” 

AB 2178 (Torlackson) 

Consistent with federal and state privacy laws, authorizes local education 
agency (LEA) grantees to submit to after school programs (ASES and 21P

st
P 

Century Community Learning Centers) with whom LEA has a contract pupil 
data, including:  school attendance, standardized test scores, high school exit 
exam scores, English language development test placement or reclassification 
score, and CA Health Kids Survey results in aggregate form.   

Chapter 462 
Signed by Governor:  September 29, 2010 

SB 798 (DeSaulnier) 

Amends existing law relating to the allocation of funds to 21P

st
P Century 

Community Learning Centers Program by requiring that, in any fiscal year in 
which the total state appropriation for that fiscal year exceeds the total state 
appropriation for the 2008-09 fiscal year after certain funds have been 
allocated, the excess amount is to be allocated for direct grants to community 
learning centers as follows:  35% to centers serving high school students; 50% 
to centers serving elementary and middle school students; and 15% to summer 
programs serving elementary and middle school students.  Priority for funding 
is to go to programs with expiring grants if the programs have satisfactorily met 
projected pupil outcomes. 

Chapter 479 
Signed by Governor:  September 29, 2010 

Data/Miscellaneous 

SB X5 2 (Simitian) 

Requires the CDE to develop a process for LEAs to collect, maintain and report 
information using a unique student identifier for state and federally funded child 
care and development programs by January 1, 2011.  The CDE is to manage 
the data on behalf of the LEAs in compliance with confidentiality laws.  In 
addition, the bill states the legislative intent to create a preschool through 
higher education statewide longitudinal educational system to inform policy and 
improve instruction. 

Chapter 1 
Signed by Governor:  January 7, 2010 

SCR 47 

State’s legislative intent to increase funding of child development centers and 
preschools as resources become available in order to pay adequate staff 
salaries and benefits, support program quality, and keep programs open to 
serve children and their families. 

Chapter 78 
Filed by Secretary of State:  August 1, 2010 

 


